Men's Golf

Two Men’s Golfers Named to All-Mountain West Team

Ocean Course Hokuala

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- San Diego State junior Justin Hastings (Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands) and sophomore Tyler Kowack (San Diego/Canyon Crest Academy) each were named to the 2023-24 All-Mountain West Team, the league announced Wednesday. It is the second consecutive all-conference award for Hastings and first for Kowack.
The conference awards and all-conference team are voted on by the league's 11 head coaches.
Hastings, who is 77th in the nation in the latest Scoreboard powered by Clippd computer ratings, ranks second on the team this season with a 70.97 stroke average (-13) through 30 rounds. Hastings opened the season with a wire-to-wire victory at the Maui Jim Intercollegiate (Sept. 8-10) with an 18-under 195, the best 54-hole score in program history. In 10 tournaments for the season, he has a win, three top-5 finishes and five top-10 efforts. Hastings, who earlier this month tied for seventh at the Mountain West Championship at 3-under-par 213, helping SDSU to its third consecutive MW title, also ranks second on the team in rounds below par (14) and rounds in the 60s (8).
Kowack, meanwhile, leads the team with a 70.88 stroke average (-18) through 33 rounds. Ranked 106th in the latest Scoreboard powered by Clippd computer ratings, Kowack captured the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate, Sept. 25-26, at 11-under 205. Out of 11 tournaments this season, Kowack has one victory, two top-5s, four top-10s and five top-20 finishes. He also tops San Diego State in rounds below par (19) and rounds in the 60s (12).
The Aztecs will compete in the 2024 West Lafayette Regional, May 13-15, at the par-72, 7,465-yard Kampen-Cosler Course in West Lafayette, Indiana. Seeded sixth out of 13 teams, the top-five squads and lowest individual not on those teams from the West Lafayette Regional will advance to the NCAA Championships, slated for May 24-29, at Omni La Costa Resort & Spa in nearby Carlsbad, California, hosted by Texas.
2023-24 Mountain West Men's Golf Awards
Golfer of the Year: Bastien Amat, Sr., New Mexico
Freshman of the Year: Ryan Firpo, Fresno State
Coach of the Year: Jake Harrington, New Mexico
All-Mountain West Men's Golf Team
Cole Rueck, So., Boise State
Connor Jones, Gr., Colorado State
Matthew Sutherland, Sr., Fresno State
Enrique Dimayuga, Sr., Nevada
Bastien Amat, Sr., New Mexico
Albert Boneta, Sr., New Mexico
Justin Hastings, Jr., San Diego State
Tyler Kowack, So., San Diego State
Caden Fioroni, Sr., UNLV
Yuki Moriyama, Sr., UNLV