Women's Tennis

Silvia Tornier Named to MW 25th Season Team


SAN DIEGO – On Monday, the Mountain West Conference announced its 25th Season Team for women's tennis. San Diego State's Silvia Tornier was the Aztecs' representative on the squad.
Tornier (2000-03) was named the Mountain West Player of the Year in both 2002 and 2003. She earned all-conference accolades in both singles and doubles from 2001 through 2003. The winner of two conference Player of the Week awards in 2002, Tornier also excelled in the classroom, earning Academic All-Mountain West honors twice in addition to being named an ITA Scholar-Athlete and an Academic All-American in 2003.
Silvia Tornier still finds her name littered throughout the Aztec record book. In singles, she is third (min. 75 decisions) in career winning percentage at 71.0%. She has two of the top ten singles seasons by wins in school history and her 2002 campaign ranks as the third best singles winning percentage (78.1%) in a season in school history. In doubles, Tornier set records with Indra Erichsen in career winning percentage (since 1994, min. 20 decisions) with an 85.7% mark, wins in a season with 26 and season winning percentage with a perfect 10-0 record in 2002. Tornier also sits at the top of a pair of individual doubles leaderboards in career win percentage with 72.5% and wins in a season with 26.
The second-seeded Aztecs begin the Mountain West Championships with the Quarterfinals at 10 a.m. on Thursday, April 25, in Las Vegas. SDSU will play against the winner of seventh-seeded Fresno State and tenth-seeded Utah State.
Mountain West All-25-Year Women's Tennis Team
1. TJ Fumagalli, Air Force
2. Anja Dokic, Boise State
3. Pauline Ernstberger, Boise State
4. Anastasia Surkova, BYU
5. Barbora Zahnova, BYU
6. Radka Buzkova, Colorado State
7. Yinglak "Pang" Jittakoat, Fresno State
8. Sophie Watts, Fresno State
9. Claudia Herrero, Nevada
10. Iva Gersic, New Mexico
11. Silvia Tornier, San Diego State
12. Sybille Gauvain, San José State
13. Marie Klocker, San José State
14. Nicole Leimback, TCU
15. Nina Much-Soegaard, TCU
16. Anna Sydorska, TCU
17. Lucia Batta, UNLV
18. Elena Gantcheva, UNLV
19. Alexsandra Josifoska, UNLV
20. Katarina Malec, UNLV
21. Aiwen Zhu, UNLV
22. McKenzie Davis, Utah State
23. Veronica Popovici, Wyoming
24. Magdalena Stencel, Wyoming
25. Tessa van Der Ploeg, Wyoming
1. Yinglak "Pang" Jittakoat/Matilde Magrini, Fresno State
2. Iva Gersic/Maja Kovacek, New Mexico
3. Sandy Lukowski/Maja Kovacek, New Mexico
4. Ana Cetnik/Anna Sydorka, TCU
5. Kristina Nedeltcheva/Elena Gantcheva, UNLV