Track and Field

Six Aztecs Earn Postseason Honors

Dale Mouton

SAN DIEGO – Six San Diego State track and field athletes officially earned all-America postseason honors from the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Association (USTFCCCA) on Monday. Jenna Fee Feyerabend was a Second Team honoree while Shaquena Foote, Aji Mbye, Jada Pierre, Hannah Waller and Xiamara Young were honorable mentions.

Feyerabend recorded two personal bests and a season best on her way to the second best heptathlon score (5,812 points) in program history. The point total is the most by an Aztec at the NCAA Championships since the 2014 season. She finished ninth overall, an improvement on her rank of 13th in the nation entering the meet. It is the second All-American Second Team selection of her career garnering the award in last year's heptathlon as well.

Young earned a pair of honorable mentions at the championship meet, finishing 21st in triple jump with a mark of 12.70m (41-8) and running the second leg of the 4x100m relay team that finished 22nd. She adds the accolades to her second team all-America honor during indoor season earlier this year.

Waller, Pierre and Mbye ran the 4x1 with Young on the first day of the NCAA Championships for their honorable mention status. The quartet ran a 44.23 in the relay race, tied for the ninth fastest time in program history. They finished 22nd overall at the championship meet.

Foote is the final honorable mention honoree, placing 17th in the 400m dash. Crossing the line in 52.10 seconds, it is the fastest time by an Aztec in the 400m at an NCAA Championship meet in program history.

With the selections, San Diego State has had at least one All-America honoree in seven of the last eight full outdoor seasons and at least one honorable mention every year since 2007.

USTFCCCA All-Americans (SDSU only)
Jenna Fee Feyerabend – Second Team (Heptathlon)
Shaquena Foote – Honorable Mention (400m)
Aji Mbye – Honorable Mention (4x100m Relay)
Jada Pierre – Honorable Mention (4x100m Relay)
Hannah Waller – Honorable Mention (4x100m Relay)
Xiamara Young – Honorable Mention (4x100m Relay, Triple Jump)