Men's Golf

Kowack and Hastings Earn PING All-Region Honors


CARLSBAD, Calif. -- San Diego State men's golfers Tyler Kowack (San Diego/Canyon Crest Academy) and Justin Hastings (Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands) each were named to the PING All-West Region team, the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) announced on Saturday. Kowack and Hastings were two of the 25 players selected from the west region.
It is the second straight year Hastings made all-region, while Kowack is on the team for the first time. Both golfers earned all-Mountain West honors earlier this month.
The Aztecs joined Arizona, Arizona State, California, Stanford, UCLA and Washington as the only schools with multiple all-West Region selections.
Kowack led the team with a 70.91 stroke average this season across 35 rounds, and also topped SDSU in rounds in the 60s (13) and rounds below par (21). Kowack captured the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate, Sept. 25-26, at 11-under 205. Out of 12 tournaments this season, Kowack had one victory, two top-5s, three top-10s and six top-20 finishes.
Hastings, meanwhile, ranked second behind Kowack with a 71.03 stroke average over 33 rounds. Hastings, who also ranks second in rounds in the 60s (9), rounds below par (15) and even-par rounds (4), opened the season with a wire-to-wire victory at the Maui Jim Intercollegiate (Sept. 8-10) with an 18-under 195, the best 54-hole score in program history. In 11 tournaments for the season, he had a win, three top-5 finishes, five top-10 efforts and six top 20s.
Kowack and Hastings led San Diego State to its third consecutive MW championship earlier this month and a spot in the NCAA West Lafayette Regional, where the Aztecs took sixth out of 13 teams, one spot from advancing to the NCAA Championship.
PING All-West Region Team
Bastien Amat, New Mexico
Josele Ballester, Arizona State
Mahanth Chirravuri, Pepperdine
Tiger Christensen, Arizona
Enrique Dimayuga, Nevada
Wenyi Ding, Arizona State
Pablo Ereño, UCLA
Ethan Fang, California
Caden Fioroni, UNLV
Justin Hastings, San Diego State
Petr Hruby, Washington
Filip Jakubcik, Arizona
Ryggs Johnston, Arizona State
Zac Jones, Brigham Young
Tyler Kowack, San Diego State
Riley Lewis, Loyola Marymount
Omar Morales, UCLA
Luke Powell, UCLA
Taehoon Song, Washington
Preston Summerhays, Arizona State
Matthew Sutherland, Fresno State
Michael Thorbjornsen, Stanford
Karl Vilips, Stanford
Andi Xu, San Diego
Sampson Zheng, California