Track and Field

Track and Field Heads to Arkansas for NCAA West Prelims

Meet Information Opens in a new window Meet Schedule Opens in a new window Live Results Opens in a new window Watch on ESPN+ ($) Opens in a new window Weekly Notes Opens in a new window
Alysa Rubin/NCAA Photos

SAN DIEGO – San Diego State is set for NCAA competition as they head to Fayetteville, Ark. for the NCAA West Preliminary Championships this weekend. The four-day meet will see the Aztecs compete on Thursday and Saturday at the University of Arkansas.
The full list of regional qualifiers was announced on Thursday last week and featured 15 Aztecs and 18 entries across 13 events. The 18 entries is the most since the 2021 season, and third most under head coach Shelia Burrell. Of the group, 14 of the entries are on the track and four in the field. The 14 track event entries is the most in program history since the NCAA began hosting regional meets in 2003.
Shaquena Foote, Aji Mbye, Jada Moore, and Hannah Waller will each compete in three events at the preliminary meet. Rhea Hoyte and Jessica Kain will both have two events to run in. The remaining eight Aztecs will compete in one single event.
The meet will be broadcasted live on ESPN+ (subscription required) with coverage beginning at 4 p.m. PT on Thursday and 3 p.m. PT on Saturday.
Athletes with the top 12 times/marks and the best 12 teams for each relay event at the West First Round in Fayetteville will qualify for the NCAA Championships in Eugene, Ore. June 5-8.
NCAA West Preliminary Entries
Sameerah Evans (triple jump), Shaquena Foote (400m), Rhea Hoyte (400m hurdles), Charlize James (100m hurdles), Jessica Kain (1500m, 5000m), Jordan Leveque (pole vault), Alex Lomeli (800m), Aji Mbye (100m, 200m), Jada Moore (100m, 200m), Jada Pierre (100m hurdles), Hannah Waller (100m, long jump), Xiamara Young (triple jump), 4x100m relay, 4x400m relay
SDSU's West Preliminary Schedule
Thursday, May 23
• 1:00 p.m. PT - 100m Hurdles (Charlize James, Jada Pierre)
• 1:00 p.m. PT - Long Jump (Hannah Waller)
• 1:30 p.m. PT - 1,500m (Jessica Kain)
• 1:30 p.m. PT - Pole Vault (Jordan Leveque)
• 2:00 p.m. PT - 100m (Aji Mbye, Jada Moore, Hannah Waller)
• 2:25 p.m. PT - 400m (Shaquena Foote)
• 2:50 p.m. PT - 800m (Alex Lomeli)
• 3:20 p.m. PT - 400m Hurdles (Rhea Hoyte)
• 3:45 p.m. PT - 200m (Aji Mbye, Jada Moore)
Saturday, May 25 (updated May 24, following Thursday's results)
• 3:00 p.m. PT - 4x100m Relay
• 3:15 p.m. PT - 1,500m Quarterfinals (Jessica Kain
• 4:00 p.m. PT - Triple Jump (Sameerah Evans, Xiamara Young)
• 4:15 p.m. PT - 100m Hurdles Quarterfinals (Charlize James)
• 4:50 p.m. PT - 400m Quarterfinals (Shaquena Foote)
• 6:10 p.m. PT - 5,000m (Jessica Kain)
• 6:45 p.m. PT - 4x400m Relay