Men's Tennis

Seeman, Sengul Named All-Mountain West for Singles


SAN DIEGO – On Tuesday, the Mountain West Conference announced its all-conference teams for tennis. San Diego State men's tennis had seniors Johannes Seeman and Bora Sengul named All-Mountain West in singles.
Earning All-Mountain West honors for the fifth straight season, Seeman is doing so for the fourth time for his singles play. A staple at the top of the Aztec lineup, he has played in every match this season for SDSU including competing on the top court for 17 of those 20 matches. In the other three matches, he played on the second court, where he won both his decisions and carried the momentum over into a win on the top court in the following match against Loyola Marymount. Seeman closed out March by beating Portland's Oscar Brown in straight sets and taking a set from No. 110-ranked Sam Sippel, of Boise State.
Sengul finished fifth on the team with seven dual wins as he recorded a winning record (7-6). Sengul opened the season on the third court and moved up to the top court for a few matches but played mostly on court No. 2. He bounced back from an extremely close loss to open the season by earning straight sets wins over Sacramento State and Idaho. Sengul also earned a win over Gonzaga in straight sets. In late March and early April, Sengul went on a run, winning four of five matches against Portland, Boise State, Air Force and New Mexico to earn his way to a 3-2 record in Mountain West play.
The fourth-seeded Aztecs begin the Mountain West Championships at 5 p.m. on Wednesday, April 24, in Las Vegas. SDSU will play against fifth-seeded Nevada in the opening round.
Men's Tennis All-Mountain West
Player of the Year
Arda Azkara, New Mexico
Freshman of the Year
Mohammad Alkotop, Utah State
1. Arjun Kersten, Air Force
2. Sam Sippel, Boise State
3. Jip Van Assendelft, Boise State
4. Matheo Coupu, Nevada
5. Arda Azkara, New Mexico
6. Johannes Seeman, San Diego State
7. Bora Sengul, San Diego State
8. Anton Ornberg, UNLV
9. Mohammad Alkotop, Utah State
10. Sergi Micó Fenollar, Utah State
11. Stijn Paardekooper, Utah State
12. Bodin Zarkovic, Utah State
1. Arjun Kersten/Jack Brown, Air Force
2. Sam Sippel/Jan Lucca Marquardt, Boise State
3. Matheo Coupu/Youssef Kadiri, Nevada
4. Alex Maggs/Arda Azkara, New Mexico
5. Sergi Micó Fenollar/Bodin Zarkovic, Utah State
6. Stijn Paardekooper/Nuno Pinheiro, Utah State